Wimbledon 2025: Umpire Nico Helwerth, from the line-calling controversy match, ‘having rest day’

All England Club’s General Manager, the match on Sunday’s electronic line meeting at the center of the referee’s referee “had a rest day”, he said.
A “operator error” meant that ball monitoring technology was accidentally disabled for a game in the fourth round match of Sonay Kartal and Russia’s Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova’s Central Court.
Kartal sent a backhand when the game fell at 4-4, but this was not detected by the Hat-Çağrı system that called for two automatic “stopping”.
The referee Nico Helwerth chose to play the point that Kartal won again, but was criticized by Pavlyuchenkova and some experts for not using the authority to invalidate and call the ball.
All England Lawn Tennis Club (AELTC) said that he “follows the settled process”.
AELTC General Manager Sally Bolton, who was asked about Helwerth not being in the Referee Rota on Monday, said: “Our referees have rotation regularly. Like a little players, the referees need resting days throughout the tournament.
“So he’s having a rest day today.
“He’s good. Look, it is really important to say that the referee has fulfilled the protocols. He did what he had to do in court and acted completely correctly.”